Non JavaScript Websites

As you may be aware, I am a web developer and I have just moved company. Now I am working at my new place, I am realising big difference in practice and one that gets me is Non JavaScript websites.  

At my last place, we had to make sure that the site could still perform and look good even if there was no JavaScript. This was just in case some bigger company’s and groups look at the site, that block it. Some company’s do for security, so you should prepare for it. However my currently company feel most everyone is going to have JavaScript on, which they are right as it is a standard these days. If you want the fancy things then you have to use it.

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

I think it doesn’t take much though to do and can mean that 1 extra sale or at least viewer. I am not talking about making the non JavaScript side perfect and run completely the same, as doing some things are impossible. I am just on about making it presentable. 

For example, if you have a slide show with JavaScript, when you take it off the slides are going to be all in a line, making the page look rubbish as you most probably have overflow:hidden on. If you have it prepared for this then you have put a <noscript> tag with just one image in.

I find it’s a little work for a long way.

Leave a message please

